Chocolate flavoured Breadpudding (A kids’ favorite)

Food-8431Last week I had one of those glorious days where I ate the last slice of bread in the morning and for once managed to remember buying a new bread! Feels great! Especially for someone who forgets a lot… Well mostly when I have a good day and come home with some bread, my wife remembered I forget a lot and brought one too… Result: we end up with 2 breads… Luckily there’s the great invention of breadpudding. And it happens to be a kids’ favorite! Just what I needed.

Since the kids enjoy summer holidays, daddy’s left for some time to entertain them… No mather how much you love your kids and like playing with them, there are some moments you’d  like to do something different. That moment made me decide to join forces and create this breadpudding. Since I was making beercan burgers that day I had a perfect opportunity to prepare the pudding on my kamado.
My son had fun helping in the kitchen! It’s heartwarming as a father to see your kids enjoy your passion and show some interest. If you have some recipes you made with your kids, I’ll be happy to read them! Might give me some inspiration for another father-son moment!

Ingredients:Food-8386

  • 0.4 l whole milk
  • 80 g brown sugar
  • 80 g white sugar
  • 240 g Bread Leftovers
  • A pinch of cinnamon
  • 160 g chocolate covered raisins (or regular raisins if you can’t find them)
  • 4 Eggs
  • 10 gr. Vanilla Sugar
  • 20 g Butter

Preparation: First you start by firing up the BBQ (indirect fire) at 180°C (350°F). While you’re bbq is getting hot you have enough time to prepare the breadpudding. Start by infusing the milk with the sugar. Once the sugar has melted you remove the pan from the fire. While cooking the milk you can start pulling the bread in little pieces. This is something kids love to do (pure focus): Food-8392

Put the bread in a large bowl and pour the hot sweetened milk in the same bowl. Put the bowl aside for a few minutes. Once the bread is soaked you can start pureeing the mixture with a fork.

Food-8405Add the stirred egg, cinnamon and chocolate raisins to the bread puree and mix the mass through. You will see some of the chocolate will melt under the breadpudding spreading a nice and subtle chocolate flavour. I admit: this stage doesn’t look verry tasteful… Butter a baking mold and pour the mixture in it! If you don’t butter the mold you will end up with troubles to remove the breadpudding when ready so don’t forget. I used a fireproof saucepan since I ruined my last mold… But the saucepan did the job verry well (and it looks cool better).

Food-8418

Put the baking mold in your bbq over indirect fire for about 50 minutes! The breadpudding is ready when your knife or a needle stays clean after piercing the dough. Place a plate on top of the Breadpudding and turn it upside down to remove the cake from the mold. You can choose to serve hot with some ice cream, or you can put it aside for about an hour to let cool the cake cool down.

resultSince it was shortly after we ate a good meal we chose to let it cool down! Adding chocolate was a good move! It created a subtle extra flavour! Then again I think I will use a little less milk next time. We had a fun moment together and both enjoyed the rest of the afternoon! Leftovers were gone and I’ve never seen the kids eating that much bread in such a short time.

Liked this blogpost? Hope you’ll hit the like or share button and spread the word!

Leave a Reply

