Bastard’s BBQ Sauce (+origin story)

IMG_6867

While finetuning this blog last night and searching for some feedback I got talking with my sister about a BBQ Party she’s about to give in a few weeks. The right moment to show some recipes! Though while looking through the recipes I posted up till now I realised most of them take some time and patience to prepare them. Besides most of the recipes also need to be prepared over indirect fire… Two obstacles that helped me think further than this blog.

One of the greatest BBQ moments came back to my mind. A year ago I agreed with a friend (the man showing the right BBQ attitude in the picture above) to help the local priest with organizing his family reunion. We were invited at his place to arrange the BBQ feast and were given complete freedom what to prepare what we wanted! As appetizers we served Saltimbocca Scampi, Chicken wings, Slow Smoked Bacon and Tortilla with Guacamole and Red Bell Pepper sauce. IMG_6865IMG_6869IMG_6874 The main course consisted of reverse seared clubsteaks and Smoked Babyback Ribs. The ribs were smoked 2hrs. on apple wood, 2 hrs. sprinkeled and wrapped up with whiskey and applejuice the day before the feast. Here are some more pictures I took those days. Unfortunately we missed some finished products as you can see.

IMG_6828 IMG_6834  IMG_6876 Seems like my thoughts lead me away from the subtject I was about to talk: the recipe for a BBQ sauce my sister asked me yesterday… *Adds + origin story to the title of this post* As I was checking our ingredients I realised I forgot to take the BBQ sauce I made earlier. Since we had no time to pick it up at home I decided to try something out with the ingredients I had brought. The result was far better than I predicted. Honestly the best BBQ sauce I made up till now! At that moment it wasn’t made on a smokey fire but doing this will add some extra smokey flavour that upgrades it to a real BBQ sauce. Luckily I had a clear moment and wrote down how I made it.

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup or 120 ml. apple juice
  • 1/2 cup or 120 ml. ketchup
  • 1/4 cup Magic dust rub
  • 1/8 cup or 30 ml. honey
  • 4 big cloves of garlic
  • 2 thumbs finely chopped fresh ginger

IMG_6837Preparation: Toss all ingredients together and let them boil till you get a thick sticky sauce! Pfew that was hard work. Now comes the toughest: Pour the BBQ sauce through a sieve so a pure and delightful residue.

Please leave a comment, like or share if you appreciated this story and recipe!

One thought on “Bastard’s BBQ Sauce (+origin story)

Leave a Reply

