Ricotta stuffed potato

image

Since my wife isn’t fond of potatoes I mostly made the same succes formula over and over again: Baked rosemary potatoes… Delicious but I want to try something else. Some time ago I ate some inspiring stuffed potatoes at Dunk! Festival! This encouraged me to try some things out. Last sunday I couldn’t decide what to combine with the Herb Crusted Salmon I was about to make. Till I remembered those great potatoes. The flavours wouldn’t fit the salmon so I had to try something else. Looking in the refrigerator gave me inspiration for these potatoes:

imageIngredients (2 potatoes):
  • 2 Potatoes
  • 80 Gr. ricotta cheese
  • Dried Garlic & pepper flakes
  • 1 Lime
  • 2 spring onions
  • Basil leaves

Preparation:

  1. Cook the potatoes with skin on for a half hour.
  2. While cooking the potatoes you have some time to make the ricotta filling. Start by mixing the ricotta cheese with a tbsp. of garlic & pepper flakes, finely sliced basil leaves and spring onions.
  3. Grill the lime and squeeze out the juices (this will make them a little bit sweeter).
  4. Cut the cooked potatoes in half and spoon out the heart of the potatoe. Replace it with the Ricotta stuffing.
  5. Put the potatoes over indirect fire at 180°C for about 15 minutes. They will look like the potatoes in the following picture when ready!
image

As you can see the potato at the bottom has a little bit of herb crust on it! It’s a great addition. I will add them to all potatoes next time! The result got me motivated to make more of them and try out other combinations! The filling would also taste great in chicken roulade. My lady was fond of the ricotta filling but refused to taste the potatoes. She used the filling as an addition to the salmon. Guess she’ll never learn to be a “good girl”…

Please press like or share if you appreciated this post!

One thought on “Ricotta stuffed potato

Leave a Reply

