Coke Brined Chicken

Me and the kids are a little fond of chicken! I like to try different recipes and however I found a lot of good recipes, I still haven’t found out THE recipe. Like for some dishes I’m searching for my perfection. Meaning looking out to combine ideas and come up with a preparation that I think I can be proud, fits my taste but might fit those of most people too! Some time ago I read about a coke brine for chicken. Since technology failed on me last monday I had to try out the things I had remembered. I chose to pass on extra seasoning to fully taste how the chicken tasted with this brine.

Preparation:

1. Prepare the Brine by mixing these ingredients:

  • 400 ml. cola
  • 2 tbsp. ketjap manis
  • 2 tbsp. ketchup
  • 2 tbsp. worcestershire
  • 3 tbsp. salt
  • 2 tbsp. pepper
  • 2 tbsp. siracha hot chili sauce (mild hot flavour with a garlic touch)

2. Cut the skin loose but make sure it still attached on one side.

3. Take a knive and try to scrape some fat from the skin and put the chicken thighs in the brine for min. 1h.

4. Remove the thighs from the brine and pat them dry.

5. Place some herbs and butter on the thighs and place the skin back at it’s place and rub them wit oil (I didn’t use extra herbs here to taste how the brine tasted in the chicken)

6. Put the thighs over indirect fire (+-150°C) for about 1- 1.5h. till a core temperature from about 70-72°C.

7. Put them over hot fire with the skin side down till it’s crispy

This is how they will look like afterwards

Result: tasteful moist chicken thighs with a crispy skin! They could use some extra pepper and salt after brining for extra flavour! But a good start to experiment with. I served them with clove flavoured applesauce (nice extra).

Please Like or Share if you like this recipe!
Leave a Reply

